July 28, 2022
Staff Accomplishment

PNNL Papers Receive Recognition from Waste Management Symposia

Eight papers address spent nuclear fuel, tank waste removal, geophysical data, and more

WM Symposia 2022

Eight papers by PNNL staff were recognized by the Waste Management Symposia.

(Image: Waste Management Symposia)

A paper by researchers from Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) and collaborator from Washington River Protection Services was recognized as a “Paper of Note” by the 2022 Waste Management Symposia—the symposia’s highest manuscript honor.

That research paper and seven others contributed by PNNL researchers were named “Superior Papers,” with one of those papers also recognized with a Best Oral Paper/Presentation award by the American Nuclear Society (ANS).

The papers were presented at the 2022 Waste Management Symposia in March, with the honored papers announced June 16.

PNNL’s papers covered a range of topics that span research on spent nuclear fuel, tank waste removal, fissile materials, geophysical data, and vadose zone remediation.

The following paper was one of 16 symposia papers receiving the prestigious Papers of Note designation. It also was one of 60 papers recognized as Superior Papers, demonstrating superb knowledge and understanding as well as laying the foundation for future waste management endeavors.

The following paper was recognized with an ANS Best Oral Paper/Presentation Award as well as a Superior Paper designation.  

Author Philip Schonewill has been invited to the ANS Honors and Awards Luncheon on February 28, 2023 to receive the award. According to ANS, the “presentation excelled in the paper judging criteria, which demonstrated knowledge, understanding, and a foundation for future waste management endeavors.”

Five additional PNNL papers received the Superior Papers honor:

A Best in Track Poster award was also received for “Verification and Validation (V&V) of the Stakeholder Tool for Assessing Radioactive Transportation (START),” by Caitlin Condon, Philip Jensen, Patrick Royer, Harish Gadey, Mark Abkowitz, Robert Claypool, Steven Maheras, and Matt Feldman. The Best in Track Poster awards were established to recognize the finest in technical and policy innovations in each of the nine symposia tracks.

The Waste Management Symposia constitutes the world's largest and most prestigious conference on radioactive waste management and disposal, decommissioning, packaging and transportation, facility siting, and site remediation.