Associate Laboratory Director, Physical and Computational Sciences
Associate Laboratory Director, Physical and Computational Sciences


Dr. Louis Terminello is the Associate Laboratory Director of the Physical and Computational Sciences Directorate at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL). In this role he is responsible for a broad range of fundamental research at PNNL sponsored by the Department of Energy's Office of Science, including work in advanced computing, physical sciences, and particle physics. He is responsible for DOE's Office of Basic Energy Sciences, Advanced Scientific Computing Research, High Energy Physics, Nuclear Physics, Fusion Energy Sciences, and Work Force Development programs at PNNL.

Prior to becoming the Associate Laboratory Director, Dr. Terminello served as the Chief Scientist for Fundamental Sciences and the Chief Science and Technology Officer for the National Security Directorate. He has chaired PNNL's Science and Technology Council, which helped develop and guide the Lab's integrated science and technology strategy and priorities. He has led substantial initiatives that have greatly strengthened the Lab's leadership in chemical imaging, catalysis, and computing.

Dr. Terminello came to PNNL in 2009 from Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, where he held leadership positions since 1995, including service as the Deputy Associate Director for Programs in the Physical and Life Sciences Directorate and Materials Program Leader for the NNSA Defense Programs.

Dr. Terminello earned a Ph.D. in physical chemistry from the University of California, Berkeley, and a B.S. in chemistry from Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He has published more than 160 publications on synchrotron radiation studies of nanostructured and interfacial materials, has earned three patents, and serves on numerous scientific advisory and review committees. Dr. Terminello is a member of the Materials Research Society, American Chemical Society, American Association for the Advancement of Science (Elected Fellow), and the American Physical Society (Elected Fellow).