Conference

PNNL @ Waterpower Week and the International Conference on Ocean Energy (ICOE)

photoofwater

(Photo by Matt Hardy | Unsplash.com)

Waterpower Week: April 27-29, 2021
International Conference on Ocean Energy: April 28-30, 2021

Waterpower Week 

mcnnaryphoto
Wednesday, April 28

7:15-8:15 a.m.: Giving Credit Where Credit Is Due: Progress in Valuing Hydro's Contribution to Electric Power Delivery

Presenter: Jeremy Twitchell

Learn about PNNL researchers who support the hydropower industry here.

International Conference on Ocean Energy (ICOE) 

Illustration of marine turbines
Wednesday, April 28

9:30-10:15 a.m. PT/12:30-1:15 ET: Integration of Energy Storage with Wave Energy Devices For Enabling and Enhancing Grid Value

Contributing Presenters: Rebecca O'Neil, Charlie Vartanian, Jan Alam

This presentation addresses the opportunities and challenges involved with the addition of large-scale storage for grid connected wave energy devices. Energy storage has the potential to greatly improve the value of the power from wave by alleviating the variability and improving the control of the power output as a way to better meet grid quality requirements.

3:45 p.m.-4:30 p.m. PT/6:45-7:30 p.m. ET: PNNL Virtual Booth, No. 14

Thursday, April 29

Noon-1 p.m.PT/3-4 p.m. ET: PNNL Virtual Booth, No. 14

1:45-2:30 p.m PT/4:45-5:30 p.m. ET: Research Topics and Preliminary Results for Powering the Blue Economy

Presenter: Rob Cavagnaro

Contributing Presenters: Andrea Copping, David Hume

Powering the Blue Economy represents expanded opportunities for marine renewable energy (MRE) to power end-use applications at sea or in remote coastal environments. However, constraints and barriers exist to integration of MRE with user technology or applications. We present ten foundational research and development topics aimed at answering key questions related to this challenge. Preliminary results are presented for studies on the performance of small wave energy converters and the required reliability for MRE devices powering ocean observing systems.

Friday, April 30

7:30-8:15 a.m PT/10:30-11:15 a.m. ET: Engaging the Regulatory Community to Aid Environmental Permitting/Consenting Processes for Marine Renewable Energy

Presenter: Mikaela Freeman

Co-Authors: Dorian Overhus, Andrea Copping, Deborah Rose

This session will focus on research that engages the regulatory community to understand key knowledge gaps, top challenges for permitting MRE developments, and regulatory perceptions of how to move the industry forward in the face of these challenges. Through a regulator survey deployed in several countries, this research answers these key questions and puts forth recommendations for advancing the MRE industry in an environmentally responsible manner.

8:30-9:30 a.m. PT/11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. ET: PNNL Virtual Booth, No. 14