Skip to Main Content U.S. Department of Energy
Science Directorate
Page 320 of 559

Biological Sciences Division
Staff Awards & Honors

November 2010

Dick Smith Named Scientist of the Year

Congratulations to Dr. Richard D. (Dick) Smith for being named 2010 Scientist of the Year by R&D Magazine! He is the first scientist from a Department of Energy national laboratory to receive this honor.

This award, now in its 45th year, recognizes leading researchers who are making significant contributions to science. Smith is being recognized for his pioneering work in effectively combining the development of new technology with its application to biological systems to gain new insights.

Smith, director of proteomics at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, and a Battelle Fellow, joins an illustrious cadre of winners of the prestigious award since 1966. These include Wernher von Braun, rocketry pioneer and Medal of Science winner; William O. Baker, Bell Laboratories research innovator and leader; J. Craig Venter, president of Celera Genomics; and Tim Berners-Lee, director of the World Wide Web Consortium.

He will receive the award at the 2010 R&D 100 Gala Awards Banquet November 11, 2010 in Florida. Smith and colleagues Dr. Alexandre Shvartsburg and Dr. Keqi Tang will also receive an R&D 100 Award for their development of the Ion Mobility Spectrometer on a Microchip, Smith's tenth R&D 100 Award.

See the PNNL news release for more information.

Page 320 of 559

Science at PNNL

Core Research Areas

User Facilities

Centers & Institutes

Additional Information

Research Highlights Home


Print this page (?)

YouTube Facebook Flickr TwitThis LinkedIn