Skip to Main Content U.S. Department of Energy
Science Directorate
Page 391 of 1002

Physcial Sciences Division
Staff Awards & Honors

July 2014

Sharon Hammes-Schiffer Elected International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science Member

Sharon Hammes-Schiffer
Prof. Sharon Hammes-Schiffer joins the latest class of IAQMS members. Credit: L. Brian Stauffer

Congratulations to Prof. Sharon Hammes-Schiffer, Center for Molecular Electrocatalysis, on being selected as a member of the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science. A world leader in theoretical and computational chemistry, Hammes-Schiffer created a general theoretical formulation for proton-coupled electron transfer reactions that elucidates how protons behave in reactions. She conducts her work as part of the Center for Molecular Electrocatalysis, an Energy Frontier Research Center funded by DOE's Office of Basic Energy Sciences, and in her group at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, where she is the Swanlund Professor of Chemistry.

Established in France in 1967, the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science provides a forum for collaborating as well as evaluating significant scientific advances. Academy membership recognizes outstanding scientific work and leadership.

The Center for Molecular Electrocatalysis now boasts two IAQMS members, as Hammes-Schiffer joins Dr. Michel Dupuis in having earned this honor.

Page 391 of 1002

Science at PNNL

Core Research Areas

User Facilities

Centers & Institutes

Additional Information

Research Highlights Home


Print this page (?)

YouTube Facebook Flickr TwitThis LinkedIn