Skip to Main Content U.S. Department of Energy
PNNL News Central

Futrell named head of PNNL’s Council of Fellows

News Release

October 25, 2002 Share This!

RICHLAND, Wash. — Dr. Jean Futrell has been named to lead a new group of top scientists from the Department of Energy's Pacific Northwest National Laboratory. This group of ranking researchers, the Council of Fellows, will be comprised of the laboratory's Battelle Fellows, a select group who have distinguished themselves over many years as internationally recognized leaders in their particular field.

Within PNNL, Battelle Fellows serve as role models and mentors to other senior scientists and researchers while continuing to contribute to their field of science.

Battelle - headquartered in Columbus, Ohio - operates PNNL for DOE.

Futrell joined PNNL in 1999 to lead the William R. Wiley Environmental Molecular Sciences Laboratory. He is internationally recognized for his contributions to the theory and practice of mass spectroscopy, with special interest in development of new instrumentation.

"The new Council of Fellows will strive to maintain the direction of scientific research at PNNL to be responsive to the needs of the scientific community and the nation," said Futrell.

The CEO of Battelle appoints Battelle Fellows.

PNNL LogoPacific Northwest National Laboratory draws on signature capabilities in chemistry, earth sciences, and data analytics to advance scientific discovery and create solutions to the nation's toughest challenges in energy resiliency and national security. Founded in 1965, PNNL is operated by Battelle for the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Science. DOE's Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States and is working to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time. For more information, visit PNNL's News Center. Follow us on Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn and Twitter.

News Center


Additional Resources